Day 8: Why I’m Excited About: Iraivi


Karthik Subbaraj had become my favorite director even before he had directed his first feature. His short films have had a cult following, ever since he made them for the ‘Naalaya Iyakkunar’ contest in Kalaignar TV. In fact, I was so impressed by his ‘Thuru‘, that I rewrote the short film as a short story in English – ‘A Trunkload of Love‘. I had said then, that this guy was going to redefine Tamil cinema, if given a chance… And then, he did…

His Pizza was a brilliant con film, disguised as an average horror flick. His Jigarthanda was a great comedy film, disguised as a brilliant gangster flick. And that is why, I had no idea what to expect from his next – Iraivi.

Ever since the teaser premiered with Santosh Narayan in top notch form in the background, my expectations have quadrupled. I do not want to speculate on the plot as I know the movie will surprise me no matter what I think. But with Vijay Sethupathi, SJ Suryah and Bobby Simha in the capable hands of Karthik Subbaraj, I expect no less than magic.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Project 365, Review, Trailer, Why I'm Excited About

Leave a comment