Breathtaker


Tired of tired fingers, turning its pages again.
An old, open novel, fanned down on my chest in disdain,
As tired eyes, sought oasis in the desert of my languor,
I scoured the world, through the halved window of my train.

Ten and two hours’d tired me, yet I had more time to kill.
Wrapped up tight in stolidity to cheat the winter chill.
And then it came and hit me, like a fresh breath of fragrant air.
In the melee of a moving train, time seemed to stop still.

A thing of beauty is joy for ever, odists say.
I gasped for words to describe elegance walking my way.
An Angel in Blue, a creature of stupendous perfection,
Any eulogy of her heavenly beauty, seemed a lame cliche.

Like clear sparkling water, that rushes down a splendid ravine,
Like a new tender leaf swaying in the breeze of God’s design.
She came and sat herself on that vacant seat before me
No Earthly synonym of beauty could match her form divine.

My tired, slouching body, found an excuse to sit up straight.
The reason of my existence, suddenly seemed to fall in place.
Like the bright blue moon, veiled behind the dark clouds of night.
My heart skipped a few beats when her dark locks fell over her face.

Day turned to night, and then night turned back to day.
I stayed a silent admirer, but not a word did she say.
She undesigned alluring gaze made me weak at the knees.
God’d been unfair to her, He must’ve took ages to make her this way.

And then like how she’d come, she was gone in a flash.
Feeling her way through the compartment, smiling, holding her father’s hands.
I stood there shocked, muted, I wanted so much to say.
She’d left her Braille books behind, but she’d taken my breath away.

-X-

6 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Romance, Stories

6 responses to “Breathtaker

  1. doesn’t every body wish for a co-passengers like this.
    The reality, sadly, is somewhat…ahem…different. 😛

  2. now thats a beautiful story well presented…and the last part was so the best part…

  3. Sarika Ravindran

    An exceptional piece of work. Beautifully written. usage of words and their flow is excellent. I have been reading all your posts, and I must confess you are a gifted writer. Looking forward to reading more from you. It would be a shame if you don’t write a book soon. You deserve a whole more eyeballs than you are getting now. God bless Sudhakar and keep writing.

  4. Hi
    Congratulations! The Directory of Best Indian Blogs is out and your nice blog figures in that. We thought, let’s announce that to you.
    Since all blogs do not have emails clearly mentioned, we have taken the liberty of telling you of this by making a comment on your latest blogpost. Hope, you don’t mind it.
    Happy blogging!

    ITB team

  5. Akhilesh Bhargava

    Awesome!!!

  6. wow…. beautiful …. loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

