My Name is… Well you know…


Lets get this straight. Not everyone can make a classic like Forrest Gump. Shahrukh is no Tom Hanks. And no matter how different it is from his mushy movies of yore, it is still a Karan Johar movie. But having said that, My Name is Khan works, and has its moments.

I have always considered Shahrukh more as a star than an actor. The only couple of exceptions perhaps being Swades – where he showed considerable maturity as an actor (and maybe, perhaps why the film bombed), and to some extent, Chak de India. Ok, perhaps even Dil Se, if you point a gun at me. His performance in MNIK may creep into this list of mine with time. There are some scenes where he is utterly believable as an Asperger’s Syndrome affected person. But there are some scenes, which seem contrived. But then, we’ve come to live with that, haven’t we?

Kajol breathes life into the role of a single mom with conviction, and aces her ‘Mandira’. There are some big actors, who have been wasted in insignificant roles. And, is the president in the end supposed to be Obama? Yeah, right. 😀

The movie works well in most parts. The SRK-Kajol Chemistry rocks. The little, innocent, one liners, do bring on a smile. It tries hard to puncture those tear glands, and even works some times. But it ends, IMHO, in a tad filmy note.

But what else do you expect, its a Karan Johar movie. I’m sure MNIK will have a lot of people squealing at the greatness of SRK, and it will set the cash registers ringing. But my honest opinion is that the movie, and SRK, could indeed have been better.

And no, I’m not going to end with a ‘My name is…’ joke. I’m tired doing that all day.

My Name is Khan – And I could have been better

4 Comments

Filed under Movie, Review

4 responses to “My Name is… Well you know…

  1. Sree

    Cool Review…how do you rate it?

    Nice blog man…i love the name too!! 😀

  2. Sudhakar

    Thanks Sree. I would call it ‘watchable’ for SRK-Kajol combo than anything else. Thanks man. 😀

  3. Dishit

    nice review!
    have only liked SRK’s Swades and Chak de – so was a bit skeptical about this too – with your review, probably i will give it a shot 🙂

  4. @Dishit – Thanks man. It is bearable dude. That’s all I’ll say. 😉

Leave a Reply

